First Page

MattsJournal05.jpg

Figured I should throw this up before I go to bed as a sort of idea of what you’re looking at. It looks rather frantically made, to the point that the pencil actually cut through the paper in a few spots. I also swear to god that’s a head wearing a hat, but that doesn’t exactly jive with the rest of the “body.”

~ by Logan on August 5, 2009.

9 Responses to “First Page”

  1. Hey dude, that looks really familiar and seems to be corresponding with some research I’m doing on the myth of Slender Man. Have you ever heard of him? I have a few other case studies which I can point you to, if you like, which I’m using in my research, but if you wouldn’t mind I’d like to keep an eye on your blog and on Matt’s journal as a possible–nay, probable–source for my research. If you must contact me, the email supplied with this reply should suffice.

    Thank you for your time,
    ~Dav Flamerock
    Miskatonic University

    • Hey Dav, did you know your university has a Wikipedia page? Interesting that you school has the same name as a figment of Lovecraft’s imagination…

      (By the way, what’s the point of ARGs? It just doesn’t make much sense to me: Not only are you filling the Internet with crap, you’re screwing around with the minds of the gullible.)

      Sincerely,
      Lucy Worth
      Skyline High School

  2. Dav,

    I apologize in advance, as I don’t think you’ll find much mythy stuff here. Slender man sounds oddly familiar, although I can’t say I know what a slender man is. I’m currently out and about but I’ll check something when I get home later tonight.

  3. you dont know shit about the slenderman mate. hes really cool, and helps out around the ouse w/ long creepy arms. please return to gbs.

  4. I don’t think the Slender Man has a hat.

  5. It has a fedora, that’s adorable, it completely undermines the fact that it looks like a faceless shadowy spider monster.

    But then again, you mentioned earlier that your friend was a terrible drawer…maybe the hat is there as a way of indicating that the creature has human-like characteristics and he’s just too bad of a drawer to indicate it any other way. Like he started drawing a monster but half way through thought: “he doesn’t look enough like a person so I’m going to give him a hat”.

    I do something similar with my drawings I start off drawing a normal animal but then realise I suck at drawing normal animals half way through so I add teeth and tentacles and claws and spines and cybernetic appendages and abstract limbs and multiple eyes in an attempt to make the drawing salvagable.

    It works suprisingly well actually.

    Sometimes if you can’t dazzle them with your accurate anatomy you’ve got to baffle them with your surrealism.

    But then again, maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

 
