What is a Slender Man?

Dav Flamrock posted a rather interesting comment, reproduced below (hope you don’t mind Dav):

Hey dude, that looks really familiar and seems to be corresponding with some research I’m doing on the myth of Slender Man. Have you ever heard of him? I have a few other case studies which I can point you to, if you like, which I’m using in my research, but if you wouldn’t mind I’d like to keep an eye on your blog and on Matt’s journal as a possible–nay, probable–source for my research. If you must contact me, the email supplied with this reply should suffice.

Thank you for your time,
~Dav Flamerock
Miskatonic University

I have no idea what a “Slender Man” is, but it sounded familiar. I finally got home after a long night out and flipped through the book. Sure enough…

MattsJournalPage13.jpg

Page 13. And for added fun:

MattsJournalPage13w.jpg

And the back of page 13, as well as page 14:

MattsJournalPageU14w.jpg

I’m banking on me not being crazy at the moment, because I’m fairly sure that says “Slender Man.” I need to try to grab some sleep but I guess I’ll try to look into this myth a tad more tomorrow.

I also sent Dr. W an email today. I’m unsure whether or not I’m hoping for a response.

So as not to break the pattern by jumping to page 13…

MattsJournalPage04.jpg

Page 4. This is the first time that I seriously have no idea what is going on.

~ by Logan on August 7, 2009.

19 Responses to “What is a Slender Man?”

  1. The fact that Matt wrote the words “SLENDER MAN” in his notebook–multiple times–is *most* intriguing. In your missive to Dr. W, did you perchance ask him (or her) about these words? You implied in previous posts that he did not speak, so I assume the psychiatric doctors would take every chance to communicate with language rather than drawings. I am most curious to hear what Dr. W had to say.

    If possible, could you share Dr. W’s contact information with me? I do have a few inquiries of my own. You may send that address privately to my.name at gmail.

    Thank you for your time.
    ~Dav Flamerock
    Miskatonic University

    • i have encountered the slender man and i have drawn him multiple times and his sighn and his name i seem to be asleep when i write and draw as my family have said please if you would like any information about the slender man i can give you it my email is niommi.atkinson@bishopbarrington.net

  2. Dav,

    I’ve done a tad bit of searching on this whole slender man myth but I’m afraid that is all it seems like to me: a myth. It’s definitely a very interesting myth, so I can see why you’d want to research it, but I hope I don’t offend you if you hold any belief in it.

    I didn’t ask Dr. W about these words specifically since I wasn’t positive about them, but I asked him about the random words in general. I’m yet to hear back from him, but since it is the weekend, I’ll give it another day or two before trying to give him a call. I’ll share his email with I get the chance to ask him whether or not he’d mind.

    -Logan

  3. It makes me glad to hear your concern of my feelings. Luckily for us both, I am of the same mind as you–to be sure, if I believed half of the legend behind this myth, I would certainly not be researching it the way I am now 😉

    You say there are more words written in the journal? This interests me, but I can wait patiently for future blog posts to see exactly what these words are. I am more interested to hear what Dr. W says about Matt’s writings.

    Regards,
    ~Dav Flamerock
    Miskatonic University

  4. Dav,

    Yes, there are more words, but as I mentioned in the first post regarding the journal, as far as I can tell, there isn’t a single sentence or coherent thought aside from the very first page. I’ll get to them all in due time, so no worries.

    -Logan

  5. lol miskatonic

  6. Miskatonic U!!!! LOL, yes!

  7. check out this song about slender man

  8. Mmm, certainly is deserving of a place in the Cthulhu Mythos.

  9. the odd shape that he drew looks like the tie “slender man” wears. :S maybe?

  10. I agree with Jessica that the drawing on page 4 resembles a tie being tucked into a suit-jacket.

  11. I’m not adding my name for a personal reason, I hope you understand. All I have to say is that the Slender Man is not bull shit. DO NOT DISREGARD HIM! He exists, he can find you, and if he does he will kill you. Sorry I can’t soften the blow, but you need to know the truth if you want to find out anything about your friend.Do not worry about what he is, do not think about him, forget anything you can about him. The more you know the closer he gets. I wish you luck, and remember, this is your life at stake. u

    • Who ever you are, My name is Austin. I might not be the guy you are messaging and your post may have been from a year ago, but if you have ANYTHING about the Slender Man please message me at austinkirby61@yahoo.com.

  12. Hello, i first heard about slender man about a month ago but i didnt start looking into him until yesterday. it is very urgent that you contact me because i have information about the orgin and maybe even the intent of slender man if you could contact me at naminethompson13@yahoo.com

  13. meow

  14. I’ve seen someone resembling the slender man on my property three times this year. Ever since then , weird shit’s been happening around my house.
    I can’t help but feel like something terrible is going to happen. Or that something terrible’s already happened. And now to top it all off , I’ve been having weird dreams about people trapped in a room disemboweling themselves and about someone named JEFF. There’s ominous atmosphere surrounding the Island. I’m pretty sure the slender man has something to do with this.

  15. Well I’ve never experienced the slender man. But he does hold the record as being the only character who isn’t someone I know to ever cameo in my dreams multiple times. So I guess he must be a pretty impressionable figure.

  16. Actually it says this in this order HIM slender man on a face and on two pages slender man maybe the docter hasn’t told you everything

Leave a Reply

 
